New 2017 Films For This Year’s Watchlist

After many stops and starts with my WordPress blog, I’ve finally reached my 100th blog post! There could be no better way to start the next 100 with an overview of what films I’m excited to see coming out in 2017. There’s plenty of standard sequels, remakes and franchise films set to be released over the next 12 months, but hopefully, there’s also plenty of original and fresh films to be enjoyed. After having a look at what’s to come out I’ve narrowed down to a small list of what I’m most excited for.

Split


M. Night Shyamalan is back with another film and it certainly looks like a good’un. James McAvoy plays a kidnapper with split personalities and Anya Taylor-Joy (actress from The Witch) plays his victim. I’ve got to say I was awe of McAvoy from the trailer, his ability to represent every side of his character’s personalities comes across as being second to none – and I’ve not even seen the film yet! It looks like its going to be weird and wonderful, and I’m really looking forward to it. Set for release on 20th January 2017 (UK).

 War Of The Planet Of The Apes


After only recently re-watching the two previous Ape movies (Rise Of and Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes), I was glad to see that War Of the Planet Of The Apes is on its way in 2017. I have so far loved this franchise through its awesome bringing-to-life of an older franchise but taking it in a fresh new direction. I love the methods of storytelling, social commentary, and the special effects are second-to-none. Andy Serkis will, of course, be ace returning as Caesar and the trailer shows Woody Harrelson will be leading the humans into the battle against the Ape race. Set for release on 14th July 2017 (UK).

Dunkirk


This film could easily become one of my favourites of the year. The trailer shows Dunkirk to be everything it should be: realistic, gritty and kind of harrowing. I feel safe in the fact that Christopher Nolan is at the helm of this one and hope performance from Tom Hardy, Cillian Murphy and Harry Styles do the story justice. The trailer speaks for itself and shows that you have to add this film to your 2017 film watchlist! Set for release 21st July 2017 (UK).

 2017 Superhero Films


I think it’s a given that I will always be excited for Marvel films when the new year comes around. My 2017 film watchlist is crammed full of 2017 Marvel blockbusters such as LoganGuardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2Spiderman: Homecoming and Thor: Ragnarok. I previously wrote a blog post which overviews the Marvel films for 2017. It includes trailers and what we can expect to look forward to, check it out here!

  • Added 19/03/2017 – Logan Film Review

Of course, DC will have its own films on the way including Wonder Woman and Justice League. I’m not feeling too excited or optimistic, but that’s only going off the disappointments which were Dawn of Justice: Batman vs. Superman and Suicide Squad. I hope DC heed some advice from my ‘Dear DC… Here’s How We Want Our Superhero Films Made Properly‘ blog post!

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

My 2017 Film Watchlist Kingsman 2 Golden Circle Taron Egerton

I loved the first Kingsman film. It was a fresh look on a spy film that was fun, funny and pretty easy going to watch. Samuel L. Jackson’s lisp made it a true comedy, but overall a great film fuelled with action. Taron Egerton, Mark Strong and Colin Firth (maybe in a flashback scene) are set to return. Nothing seems truly confirmed yet, although the film’s IMDb page claims big names such as Halle Berry and Channing Tatum will be making an appearance – it could be good! Set for release on 6th October 2017 (UK).

Star Wars Episode VIII

My 2017 Film Watchlist Luke Skywalker Mark Hamill Episode VIII 8

The next instalment in the Star Wars franchise may be the one that’s released at the latest date of all of the films listed here (December 2017), but I think I’m still most excited for this out of all of them. Being fresh off the back of Rogue One, I think it’s fair to say I’m more than ready to have another dosage of a galaxy far-far away – but it’ll be a long wait!

The episode is as yet unnamed and we don’t know very much about the upcoming film. Luke Skywalker will almost certainly have more to do with this film than he did with The Force Awakens, we will see the continuation of Rey, Finn, Poe and Kylo Ren’s tale as well as seeing Carrie Fisher’s last adventure as Princess Leia. Her loss is deeply saddening and I hope they give her an awesome send off in Episode 8. Set for release on 18th December 2017 (UK).


As well as my highlights there are plenty of other films coming out this year which I will certainly be adding to my 2017 film watchlist! There’s certainly plenty other films to look forward to with Beauty and the Beast being Disney’s latest live-action remake, Rings and It are back to reboot two classic horror franchises as well as Alien: Covenant and The Mummy coming back for another round. And there’s another Cloverfield film – I hope that’s as good as the last! I certainly think it’s time for Pirates Of The Caribbean and Transformers to be put on ice for a while, but it seems as though they are going ahead too (sigh). But let’s see how it goes!

My 2017 Film Watchlist Shia La Boeuf GIF Giphy

Outlook is currently positive for what films are to come in 2017, let me know in the comments if you think anything else should be on my 2017 film watchlist! What have I missed? – I’m sure there’s plenty!

5 responses to “New 2017 Films For This Year’s Watchlist

Leave a Reply

